If you are interested in performing any of Angela’s works then feel free to contact her.


BSO performance workshop of Roil in Stillness  18th February

Night Airs University of South Florida, New Music Consortium Friday 3rd March 7.30pm (EST) at USF’s Barness Recital Hall

Glaciate Falls for wind nonet as part of a dance project for London Consort of winds in collaboration with choreographer Sara Røisland Torsvik- March 19th 2017 – second performance October 2017 (date tbc)


Fractal Light for oboe quartet written for the London Oboe Quartet (date tbc)

As The Moon runs Red for solo trumpet written for Simon Desbruslais (date tbc)

The Moon is Falling for violin and classical guitar  (date tbc)


Adopt a Composer performance -7th December 2016

Rainbow Fire for piano trio -22nd October as part of:Logo

Becloud for solo piano -18th August to be performed in Vilnius, Lithuania

Dark Refractions for symphonic winds – 26th August to be performed in Vilnius, Lithuania

13938032_532702313586236_3199908376005506371_o(*name should read Angela Elizabeth Slater, Whittaker is my married name)

January 7th 2016:

Performance and workshop of Sakura: The Falling of the Blossom by the Okeanos ensemble at the Bangor RMA student conference.

Workshop and performance of Sakura: The Falling of the Blossom by the Okeanos ensemble at the RMA student conference

I recently received exciting news that my piece Sakura: The Falling of the Blossom has been selected to be workshopped and performed on 7th January 2016 by the Okeanos ensemble in Bangor at the RMA/BFE Conference!

25th March 2016

Pssapha Clarinet scheme performance of Nacreous Cloud 

Sunday 6th September:

Rainbow Fire  will be workshopped by the Berkeley ensemble as part of the PRS Piecing Together event.

Friday 4th September:

Premiere of ‘We’re all mad here’ for toy piano.  To be performed by Xenia Pestova Friday September 4th, 7:30pm White Cloth Gallery Leeds.

Check it out:

Tuesday 1st September:

Apparitions for chamber choir will be workshopped by the BBC Singers lead by Judith Weir and Matthew Hamilton. Observer tickets are available for free:

Friday 28th August :

Rainbow Fires for piano trio. To performed by the Fournier Trio as part of Dartington Advanced Composition Course concert. Angela has been generously supported by the Boltini Trust to attend this course.

More information below:

Hugh Wood: course director
Stephen Pratt: course director
Christina McMaster: piano

Fournier Trio
Sulki Yu: violin
Pei-Sian Ng: cello
Chiao-Ying Tang: piano

Friday 28 August, 5.15pm Great Hall
£8 Full, £4 Under 16

Exciting new chamber music created by students on the Advanced Composition Course – come and hear the stars of tomorrow! Many of these gifted international students are supported by bursaries funded by generous individuals, trusts and foundations, as well as the Dartington Hall Trust and the Dartington International Summer School Foundation.

Past students of the Summer School have included luminaries like soprano Sarah Gabriel, violinists Chloe Hanslip and Thomas Adès, members of Stile Antico and pianist Veronica Shoot. Come and support tomorrow’s stars!

Experience work created by performers from the Advanced Courses each Friday of the Summer School – on 7, 14, 21 and 28 August at 5.15pm.

Proceeds from tickets purchased to this masterclass will be used to support Summer School bursaries.

For more chamber music:
Fournier Trio on 22 August at 7.45pm
Thomas Gould violin recital on 25 August at 7.45pm
The Olga Jørgesen Trio on 27 August at 5.15pm


Saturday 21 March 7.30pm
Other venues

This was joint concert between the University Choir and University Philharmonia, set in the beautiful atmosphere of St Mary’s Church.

Schütz Psalm 150
Gabrieli O Magnum Mysterium
Angela Slater: The Shadows that I missed
Gounod Petite Symphonie
Ives Psalm 150
Stravinsky Three Sacred Choruses
Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms

Please note: This concert will be in St Mary’s Church, Nottingham.

This event will go on sale in November.

Bournemouth Composers’ Day

Night Airs (for mixed ensemble) was workshopped by Kokoro ensemble led by Colin Matthews and with contributions from composer Charlotte Bray and Matthew Kaner.


9th January 2015

Night Airs (for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion)



Ongoing (Autumn 2014)

Brain 1

“Brain Container” is a lit, moving art installation housed in a customised cargo container; a giant interactive light box.

Designed by artist Jo Berry, the piece is made up of a series of thirty-six cast acrylic discs that are hung, lit and rotated

The discs, which feature images of the human brain, are made up of a series of laser cut coloured Perspex panels that have been glued together and then cast in clear acrylic from this series of design drawings.

The artwork has been lit and installed by Blackpool Council’s Illuminations team and forms an exciting new part of this year’s display.

The display is set to music with composer, Angela Slater, having designed the accompanying sound in response to imagery she viewed in Jo’s studio.

Video of Brain Container Project – Blackpool Illuminations (2014) –


£9 (£6 concession)
£5 UoN students
Sunday 23 November 7.30pm
Great Hall, Trent Building
KODAK Digital Still Camera
 On the programme is postgraduate composer Angela Slater’s Stormscape which was premiered by the Wind Orchestra June 2013 and has been revised for this performance.

Conductors – Adam Whittaker (principal conductor) & Alex Rickells (assistant)

21st March 2014- Premiere of Cloud for string ensemble to be performed by The Arco Ensemble with guest soloist Owen Cox.

26th October 2013 – Premiere of Blencathra  for Chamber Orchestra  – 7.30pm, Djanogly Recital Hall, University of Nottingham


£11 (£9 concessions)
£5 UoN students
Saturday 26 October 7.30pm
Djanogly Recital Hall

Jonathan Tilbrook conductor

Vanhal Sinfonia in G minor
Ravel Pavane pour une infant défunte
Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin
Angela Slater Blencathra (premiere)
Stravinsky Pulcinella: Suite

The first university concert for the year contrasts classical and neo-classical music opening with a sinfonia by the 18th-century Bohemian composer Johann Baptist Vanhal in the 200th anniversary of his death. Ravel’s memorial work written in the style of a Baroque suite was originally written for solo piano with each of the movements dedicated to friends who died in World War I. Postgraduate student Angela Slater was inspired to write her chamber work Blencathra by the Lake District landscape. The programme is completed with Stravinsky’s homage to the 18th-century composer Pergolesi, the Suite from the ballet based on the commedia dell’arte character Pulcinella.

20th June 2013 – Premiere of ‘Stormscape’ by the University of Nottingham Wind Orchestra – 7.30pm, Great Hall, Trent Building, University of Nottingham

18th June 2013 – Lunchtime Concert – 1:15-2pm, Djanogly Recital Hall, University of Nottingham

  • A selection of Angela’s choral and chamber  instrumental works being performed by University of Nottingham students. Free admission!

23rd November 2012 – ‘Plummet’ – a work for Bass Clarinet & Piano

  • Performed by Bass Clarinettist Sarah Watts, and Pianist Antony Clare, as part of the RMA Study Day ‘Challenging Musical Ontologies’

31st October 2012 – ‘Flying a Kite’ – Choral Work (SATB)

  • This work was performed as part of a public lecture evening attached t0 the ‘In the open air’ exhibition of Laura Knight’s artwork in the Djanogly Gallery, Lakeside Arts Centre, University of Nottingham